

MINUTES OF THE PROTOCOL COMMITTEE MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY 3 JANUARY 2019

1 Minutes of the Meeting held on 1st November 2018 and matters arising:

Agreed

2 Lord Mayors Receptions and Engagements of the Deputy Lord Mayor For November and December:

Agreed and Recommend to Council

3 Conferences

Agreed and Recommend to Council

4 Conferences Attended:

Noted

5 Conference Reports Received:

Noted

6 Correspondence from the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government

Noted

7 Motion in the name of Lord Mayor Nial Ring:

Agreed. It was also agreed to send a copy of the historical statement to members of the Committee for their information.

8 **2019 Scheme of Polling Places**

Noted

9 Revised Area Committee Structures - Post Local Elections 2019

It was noted that this item is on the Agenda for the January City Council meeting and would be discussed then. It was further noted that agreement could be reached on the final structure nearer to the Local Elections.

10 Manager's Report

Ms Deirdre Ni Raghallaigh reminded Members of their responsibilities under the Lobbying legislation. Also some discussion took place of progress on the issues raised by the implementation of GDPR.

11 **A.O.B.**

- DCC was congratulated for their involvement in the Winter Lights Initiative which was positively received by citizens and tourists alike
- The question of the role of DCC in the New Year Festival was raised and clarification sought. The Chief Executive clarified the funding and profile arrangements.
- It was also mentioned that DCC does not receive credit for some popular initiatives that it supports, E.G. Christmas Markets. Some discussion followed and it was suggested that a Marketing Manager would be beneficial to raise the profile of DCC in a positive way.
- A concern was also raised that Councillors were not always invited to
 events which are (part) funded by DCC. It was suggested that a protocol
 with criteria be drawn up and agreed.

Members:

Proposed Date of Next Meeting: 31st January 2019 at 8am in the Richard O'Carroll Room, City Hall

Agreed

Councillor Dermot Lacey
Chairperson
Thursday 3 January 2019

Attendance:

Members:

Dermot Lacey (Chairperson)		
Anne Feeney	Mannix Flynn	Deirdre Heney
Teresa Keegan	John Lyons	Ray McHugh
Damian O'Farrell	Ciaran O'Moore	-
<u>Officers</u>		
Oonagh Casey	Deirdre Ni Raghallaigh	Owen Keegan
Apologies:		
Brendan Carr	Aine Clancy	Micheal Mac Donncha
Michael Mullooly	Naoise O'Muiri	

Members: